[Blueboard] DOST-SEI Silver Pillar Awardees

vcabason at ateneo.edu vcabason at ateneo.edu
Wed Sep 19 14:22:12 PHT 2012

The School of Science and Engineering is pleased to  announce that

Dr. FABIAN M. DAYRIT, Professor of the Chemistry Department, and
Dr. CATHERINE P. VISTRO-YU, Professor of the Mathematics Department,

have  been selected by the DOST Science Education Institute as  Silver  
  Pillar Awardees, on the occasion of its 25th anniversary.

The Silver Pillars Awards are given to individuals and institutions
which have contributed significantly to the advancement of science
education in the country as a partner of SEI.  The awarding ceremonies
will be held on September 19, 2012 at the Garden Ballroom, EDSA
Shangri-La Hotel, Mandaluyong City.

Both faculty members have received multiple awards in the past.  This  
is the third of Dr. Vistro-Yu's distinct achievements for this  year  
alone.  She has been selected as a MetroBank Foundation  Oustanding  
Teacher Awardee (Higher Education Level) for 2012, and was  elected as  
a member of the Executive Committee of the International Commission on  
Mathematical  Instruction.

Dr. Fabian Dayrit, former Dean of SOSE, is an Academician of the  
National Academy of Science and Technology.

Congratulations, Toby and Cathy!  We are proud of you!

More information about the Blueboard mailing list