[Blueboard] Fw: News from ACFJ

arlene burgos burgosab2002 at yahoo.com
Fri Jun 26 19:52:45 PHT 2009

Journ alumna bag top Philippine journalism
M.A. Journalism alumna Luz Rimban and Diosa
Labiste won the top prize
at the 2009 Jaime V. Ongpin Awards for
Excellence in Journalism
(JVOAEJ) for their investigative report
"Quedancor swine program
another fertilizer scam."
The two were part of the team that included
veteran journalist Yvonne
Chua. Rimban and Chua are trustees of VERA
Files, an independent media
organization that engages in in-depth
reporting. Rimban is also faculty of the MA Journalism program while Chua is
editorial consultant of Asian Currents, the ACFJ journal. 
Labiste, a VERA Files contributor and community
journalist based in
Iloilo City, was also named Marshall McLuhan
Awardee at ceremonies
held at the Asian Institute of Management in
Makati City.  She is the
first community journalist to be named McLuhan
Fellow since the awards
were given out in 1995.
This is the fourth time that Rimban and Chua,
both journalism
professors at the University of the
Philippines, have won the top JVO
The three-part report, published in September
last year, garnered the
Award of Distinction for being "a
thoroughly-documented and meaningful
report, a substantial contribution to the
urgent necessity to
understand the link between the country's
continuing poverty and
corruption, and which manages to hold reader
attention while provoking
thought as well as outrage."
The team got a Plaque of Distinction and a cash
prize of P75,000.
Labiste was among the first batch of ACFJ
graduates, obtaining her
degree in 2005. Rimban finished her M.A. in
The JVO Awards are administered by the Center
for Media Freedom and
Responsibility (CMFR) which conducted a
seven-month scan of
investigative and explanatory reports published
in 2008.  The scan
consisted of three phases and examined hundreds
of reports from
various print publications, eventually
producing a crop of eight
considered to be last year's best.
The other finalists included Newsbreak, the
Philippine Daily Inquirer,
the Philippine Star, SunStar Cebu, and the
Philippine Center for
Investigative Journalism.
Three of the finalists received Certificates of
Merit and a cash prize
of P25,000. These are "A Policy of
betrayal" by Newsbreak's Miriam
Grace Go,  "Squatters and the city" by SunStar Cebu's Cherry Ann T.
Lim and Rene H. Martel, and "'Less than 10
people in plot; 5 core, 5
others' in the know'" by the Philippine
Daily Inquirer's Fe Zamora.
Roel Landingin of the Philippine Center for
Investigative Journalism
won the other Award of Distinction for his
series "Aid inflow sparks
scandals for GMA."
The 2009 awards mark the 20th year that the JVO
prizes were being
given out.  It was named after the late Jaime V. Ongpin, who was
finance secretary under the Cory Aquino
administration. During the
Marcos years, Ongpin was a businessman who sat
on the board of
Veritas, a magazine that tested the limits of
press freedom under
Ferdinand Marcos' rule.  The JVO Awards were created to encourage
journalists to practice in-depth reporting on
issues of public
The VERA Files Quedancor series was published
in early September by
Malaya, Manila Times, Business Mirror,
Philippines Graphic. It was
made part of the documentation submitted by
opposition lawmakers to
substantiate the impeachment complaint filed
against President Gloria
Arroyo in 2008. 

      New Email addresses available on Yahoo!
Get the Email name you've always wanted on the new @ymail and @rocketmail. 
Hurry before someone else does!

More information about the Blueboard mailing list