[Blueboard] Congratulations and thank you to the 31st University Service Awardees!

m baytion alunsina2005 at gmail.com
Thu Nov 20 08:46:26 PHT 2008

There is always something noteworthy about each year's service awards.
This year 2008 is probably the most "star-studded" thus far: it is as
though many of the present administrators, heads of various units, and
campus "icons" collectively made the decision to serve the University
all those years ago. Just as fortuitously they have been ably aided by
dozens of hardworking and dedicated teaching and non-teaching staff
that have in their own respective ways contributed to the way the
University community has grown.

Among the 52 special awardees this year are: University president
Father Bienvenido Nebres, SJ (35 years); vice president for the Loyola
Schools Ma. Assunta Cuyegkeng (25); academic vice president Antonette
Angeles (25); vice president for the Professional Schools Alfredo
Bengzon (15); University Archives director Rodolfo Allayban (40);
Central Accounting director, Leonora Wijangco (35); Physical Plant
administrator Leoncio Miralao (30); and Basic Education Unit director
Carmela Oracion (25).

They are joined by Father Roque Ferriols, SJ (LS Phi), longest-serving
at 45 years;

40-year awardees Araceli Abando (GS), Elisa Borromeo (AVP), Esperanza
Chee Kee (HS),  Manuel Dy Jr. (LS Phi), Father Francisco Perez, SJ
(HS) and Concepcion Rosales (LS IS); 35-year awardees Frances Teresita
Alcantara (LS Bio); Angeles Franco (President's office), and Thomas
Green (LS Phi);

and 30-year awardees Leopoldo Biso (HS), Ramon Bunag (LS RH), Susan
Cellano (LS Psy), Marilou de Guzman (LS Eco), Lydia Yu-Jose (LS PoS),
Jasmin Lazaro (CAO), Ramon Li (HS), Maurice Lim (LS FAD), Father James
Meehan, SJ (LS Th), Lucila Orencio (GS), Elizabeth Peralejo (HS),
Leonardo Roque Jr. (CPO), Tomas Rosario Jr. (LS Phi), and Flor Sanchez
(President's office).

Making up the bulk of this year's special awardees are those marking
their 25th year:
Emelita Adrales (LS SoSE), Fernando Aldaba (LS Eco), Bernardita
Aranzaso (Personnel), Ma. Caridad Balane (Athletics), Ana Maria
Bautista (Physical Plant), Juliet Bautista (UD/AR), Imelda Estrelles
(LS Fil), Apricinia Fernandez (LS Eng), Salcedo Laurente (GSB),
Genevieve Lim (GS), Josefina Marasigan (CAO), Jenny Martirez (JR),
Virginia Mercado (Law), Julia Cristina Morata (LS OAA), Bernadette
Pascua (LS Socio-Anthro), Rodolfo Rabino (CAO), Claribelle Luz Rivera
(GS), Margarita Ma. O. Romanillos (VPFT), Samuel Torres (CAO),
Augustus Vargas (LS PE) and Irene Venegas (LS PE).

The rest of this year's 316 service awardees—those who have served
from five years and more—come from the Loyola Schools (numbering 126),
Grade School (42), Professional Schools (37), High School (31),
Central Administration and other service units (21), Auxiliary
Units/Jesuit Residence (6), and Basic Education Unit (1).

They include those who have given two decades of their lives to the
University: Chona Abadam, Edwin Banasihan, Fernando Basug, Rosanna
Borja, Ma. Asuncion Cantillon, Ma. Cecilia Crudo, Paz Jose, Ma. Carmen
Musngi, Marilou Palma, Jose Salvador Jr. and Efren Seguis of the Grade

Joseph Ferrer, Maria Cristina Galban, Arnulfo Merida, Ma. Margarita
Pavia of the High School;

National Artist Salvador Bernal, Father Adolfo S. Dacanay, SJ, Sister
Reylinda de Guzman, r.c., Danilo Flores, Flordeliza Francisco, Anna
Miren Intal, Father Rene Javellana, SJ, Ma. Emma Concepcion Liwag,
Perpetuo Magallanes, Jr., Fidela Mallillin, Ma. Isabel Martin, Ma.
Lucia Natividad, Danton Remoto, Agustin Martin Rodriguez, Merlyn
Servanes, Vivian Tolentino, and Isaac Umayam of the Loyola Schools;

Julio Ferrer, Enrico Mina, Ruben Balane, Marissa David, Albert
Palacios and Rogelio Praxidio of the Professional Schools;

Esilo Andoy and Mario Boco of the Physical Plant office; and Juliana
Alampay and Ma. Rosario Ramona Valenzuela of the President's office.

Knowing that all these individuals are either at the helm or are
manning the ship gives one a sense of confidence that one has chosen
the right place in which to spend most of one's waking hours, the
right community to which to offer one's best years, the right
environment in which to mold the young. As 2007 special service
awardee Gina Ylaya of ACESS has said, "The people who run the
University make it easy for the rest to do their jobs well. There are
no moral dilemmas to deal with, no struggle outside that of the mental
struggle required in doing one's work."

Heartfelt congratulations and thank you to this year's service awardees!


Ateneo de Manila University Press
Bellarmine Hall, AdMU Campus
Katipunan Ave., Loyola Heights
Tel 02-4265984; 4266001 ext 4613
unipress at admu.edu.ph
Visit our website: www.ateneopress.org

I don't know what your destiny will be, but one thing I do know: the
only ones among you who will be really happy are those who have sought
and found how to serve.
                                                        --Albert Schweitzer

More information about the Blueboard mailing list