[Blueboard] 4th Ateneo High School Math Olympiad

queena at mathsci.math.admu.edu.ph queena at mathsci.math.admu.edu.ph
Sun Jan 22 17:33:14 PHT 2006

Pls post.

Now on its fourth year, the Ateneo High School Math Olympiad (AMO), with 18 
participants from the Ateneo High School and 17 students selected by the 
Mathematics Trainers Guild, held the individual round competition last Jan. 13 
and the group round and awarding ceremonies last Jan. 17, 2006.  

The AMO aims to showcase the skills and mindset acquired by our students, 
after they undergo training for several months under talented college science 
major volunteers.  Patterned after the International Math Olympiad, the most 
prestigious math competition in the world, the AMO focuses not so much on the 
usual speed and basic mastery, but on higher-order non-routine problem 

For the individual round, the winners were:
Gold: Emerson Escolar (Grace Christian), Nellie Chua (St. Jude), Carlo Adajar 
(PAREF Southridge)
Silver: Diogo Moitinho de Almeida (Ateneo), Alvin Belleza (silver), Patrick 
Ong (St. Jude), Jonathan Chua (St. Jude), Joanna Tan (Jubilee)
Bronze: Edmund Soriano (Ateneo), Emmanuel Plan (Ateneo), Davin Choi (Chiang 
Kai Shek)

For the group round (a traditional competition with time presshre), added 
winners were: Ramon Marfil (Phil Sci), Vance Uy (St. Jude) and from the 
Ateneo: Mikhael Llado, Miguel Ty, Gabriel Villareal,Ernesto Macatangay, Victor 

Best of all, several of the fourth-year students are seriously considering 
coming to the Ateneo next year.  Let us strive to persuade them to do so. 

Our thanks to the groups which made the AMO a truly interdisciplinary event:
*  Office of the President Fr. Ben Nebres, S. J., the main sponsor 
*  chief judge Dr. Jose Marasigan, coach of the Philippine team to the IMO
*  Dr. Flordeliza Francisco, Dr. Jumela Sarmiento, Miss Debbie Bautista, Miss 
Mida Guillermo, judges for individual / group rounds
*  Ateneo Math Society, especially Robin Lester Lim and Jelline Sanchez, for 
logistics efforts
*  Ateneo Problem Solvers Guild, for training the high school students from 
July 2005 to Jan 2006
*  Ateneo High School administration and faculty, especially Mrs. Carmela 
Oracion and Mrs. Jennifer Alarcon-Concepcion, for providing math trivia 
questions and prizes for the audience 
*  Scholastic Book Fairs, Fundamentals, and Ahead Review Center, our other 

The AMO for the Grade School will be on Feb.10, 2006, at the Henry Irwin 

Queena Lee-Chua
Math Department




More information about the Blueboard mailing list