[Blueboard] Ateneo Hosts International Programming Contest

rsaldana at ateneo.edu rsaldana at ateneo.edu
Mon Oct 24 21:17:18 PHT 2005

To the Person-In-Charge of Blueboard. Pls. Post. Thanks. R. Saldana.


On October 28-29, 2005 some 100 teams from 43 schools and seven countries
in Asia will converge at Ateneo de Manila University to compete in a
five-hour grueling battle of brains in computer programming.

Organized by the Department of Information Systems and Computer Science
(DISCS) in partnership with the Mathematics Department, the 2005 ACM
International Programming Contest Asia-Manila Site will take place at the
Ateneo Grade School Auditorium this coming Friday and Saturday (October

Fr. Bienvenido Nebres, SJ, President of Ateneo de Manila University said,
"It is a privilege [for the Ateneo de Manila University] to host this most
prestigious programming competition in the world and to provide the
opportunity for talented young people in the Philippines and in our
region to be inspired and to grow through this competition."

Dr. Anna Miren Intal, Vice-President for the Loyola Schools of Ateneo is
thankful that the University is given the chance to contribute through
hosting this year's contest to the development of the next generation of
leaders in computer and information technology research, development and

The opening ceremony of the two-day event will be held on Friday from
10:00 a.m. to 12 noon at the Lee Irwin Theater. This will be followed by
a practice session by competing teams in the Grade School Auditorium. A
welcome party will wrap up the activities for the first day. On Friday
and Saturday there will be exhibits from sponsors. A seminar and career
talks on computational science and information technology sponsored by
the Mathematics department will take place on Saturday from 9:00 a.m. to
12 noon at the Lee Irwin Theater. Featured speakers include Dr. Felix
Muga II and Dr. Rafael Saldaña from the Mathematics Department, Dr.
Vincent Sacksteder and Dr. John Paul Vergara from DISCS, and Prof.
Propero Naval from the University of the Philippines-Diliman.

On Saturday afternoon the contest proper will take place. Each team of
three students from the same school will be given a computer and eight
problems to solve in five hours. The team with the most number of
problems solved with the fastest time will be declared the winner. The
contest dinner and awarding ceremony will take place after the contest

The Board of Judges is headed by Dr. Rafael Saldaña (ADMU) and includes
the following members: Dr. Eliezer Albacea (UPLB), Dr. Henry Adorna (UP
Diliman), Dr. Noel Cabral (ADMU), Dr. Jaime Caro (DLSU-Manila), Dr.
Caslon Chua (De La Salle University-Manila), Prof. Rommel Feria (UP
Diliman), Dr. Nelson Marcos (DLSU-Manila),  Dr. Felix Muga II (ADMU), and
Prof. Prospero Naval (UP Diliman).

Participants will come from schools and universities from all over the
Philippines, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, and

The winning team in the Asia-Manila Regional Contest will advance to the
ACM ICPC World Finals to be held in April 2006 at San Antonio, Texas,
USA. Other major prizes in the Asia-Manila contest include: medals and
plaques for first place, second place, third place, best local team,
first runner up for best local team, second runner up for best local
team, and best foreign team.

Introduction to the ACM

ACM is an acronym for the Association for Computing Machinery. It was
founded in 1947 by a group of electrical engineers headed by John
Mouchly, co-inventor of ENIAC (Electronic Numerical Integrator and
Calculator), the world's first electronic computer. They formed the
association as a forum for the exchange of information, knowledge and
ideas that would advance the development of computing technology and its
emergent industry. Currently, ACM is the largest professional society for
computing having over 80,000 members worldwide. Every year, the ACM honors
individuals with distinctive professional contributions with the A. M.
Turing Award (the so-called Nobel Prize for Computer Science) and Grace
Murray Hopper Award. The ACM International Collegiate Programming
Contests (ICPC) is one of the activities of the ACM.

Mission and History of the ACM ICPC

The ACM ICPC aims to provide college students with an opportunity to
demonstrate and sharpen their problem-solving and computing skills. The
first ACM Contest Finals was held in Atlanta, Geogia, USA on February 2,
1977. Most  of the teams were from the USA, and a few teams were from
Canada and Europe.  Since then the contest was held annually with more
non-US teams participating. Last year (2004), more than 4,109 teams from
1,5582 colleges and universities from 71 countries participated at 144
regional sites scattered all over the world. From these, 78 teams
competed in the ACM ICPC World Finals held in April 2005 in Shanghai,
China. The next ACM ICPC World Finals will be held on April 9-13, 2006 in
San Antonio, Texas, USA.

ACM ICPC in Asia

At present, the ACM ICPC consists of six regions: Asia; North America;
Mexico, Central, and South America; Europe; Africa and Arab Countries;
and South Pacific. The Asia region has 11 sites, namely: Beijing,
Chengdu, Coimbatore, Dhaka, Hangzhou, Kolkata, Manila, Seoul, Taipei,
Tehran, and Tokyo. The first Asian team which participated in the World
finals held at San Antonio, Texas, USA, in 1991 was a team from Taiwan.
The founder director of the Asia Regional Contest is Dr. C. Jinson Hwang,
a professor of Computer Science at Texas State University, San Marcos,
Texas, USA. Dr. Hwang started with a single Asia Regional Site in Taiwan
in 1995. This was followed by 2 sites in 1996, 3 sites in 1997, 4 in
1998, 6 in 1999, 8 in 2000 and 2001, 9 in 2002, and 10 in 2003 and 2004,
and 11 in 2005.

The ACM ICPC in Manila

The ACM Asia Programming Contest in Manila is only four years old. The
first three contests (2002 -- 2004) were hosted by the University of Asia
and the  Pacific. This year, ACM gave the privilege of hosting the 2005
Asia Programming Contest-Manila to the Ateneo de Manila University with
Dr. Rafael Saldaña, President of the Computing Society of the Philippines
(CSP) and Associate Professor at the Ateneo de Manila, as the Regional
Contest Director.

Last year, a Philippine team qualified for the first time to compete in
the ACM ICPC World Finals held in Shanghai, China. The team, Res
Cogitans, consists of three students (Carlos Miguel Arguelles, Allan
Espinosa, and Mark Punzalan) from the Ateneo de Manila University with
Dr. Pablo Manalastas of the Ateneo Department of Information Systems and
Computer Science as coach.


        Aside from IBM and the Ateneo de Manila University, the sponsors
of the
2005 Asia Programming Contest-Manila include: Microsoft, Smart
Communications, Linden Suites, Philippine Daily Inquirer, INQ7.net, Level
Up! Games, Nestle Kitkat, Del Monte Corporation, Panacake House, Media
Gateway, Tantra, and the Commission on Higher Education Center of
Excellence (CHED-COE) Fund.

For more information about the contest, contact:

The Regional Contest Director
ACM ICPC Asia-Manila Site
Rm. 209 Faura Building
Ateneo de Manila University
Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1108
Tel. 426-6001 loc. 5660
Fax. 426-6071
E-mail: rsaldana at ateneo.edu
Website: htpp://acm.ateneo.edu

More information about the Blueboard mailing list