[Blueboard] (no subject)

EMAdrales eadrales at ateneo.edu
Thu Dec 9 23:44:01 PHT 2004

Congratulations to

Reinabelle C. Reyes
(IV BS Physics)
2nd Place, Young Scientist Competition
Joseph Patrick D. Echevarria
(IV BS Physics with Computer Engineering)
3rd Place, Young Scientist Competition

They were among five science students awarded by the National Academy of 
Science and Technology after their research presentation on December 8, 
2004 at the Traders Hotel, Manila. First place went to Edward Carlo Samson 
(V BS Physics, UP). The other finalists were Noelle Andrea Fabie (IV BS 
MBB, UP) and Wilfrido Kabiling (V BS IE, DLSU).

Reina's work on "Successive Lorentz Boosts: Equivalent Boost and Rotation 
Using Geometric Algebra" presents a more intuitive and graphical approach 
to the standard equations for special relativity. This could be a tool to 
facilitate a more solid grasp of fundamental but abstract concepts in the 
physics of relativistic systems.

Patrick's work on "Small-Scale Wind Turbine: Design, Assembly and 
Performance Testing" responds to the challenge of using our largely 
untapped wind resource as an alternative source of energy. Instead of 
large-scale windmill farms, however, its focus is on the small-scale wind 
turbine for low-wind and intermittent conditions.

Again, congratulations to Reina and Patrick. We are truly proud of you!

Office of the Dean
School of Science & Engineering
Ateneo de Manila University
Locals 5600 - 5603


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://lists.ateneo.edu/pipermail/blueboard/attachments/20041209/da8fec50/attachment.html 

More information about the Blueboard mailing list