comm at admu.edu.ph comm at admu.edu.ph
Tue Feb 18 14:06:19 PHT 2003



This award honors the outstanding efforts of student journalists who have made 
significant contributions to the body of Ateneo  journalism through their 
writing and Philippine campus journalism as a whole.

Journalism is about quality as well as quantity, as much art as science, as 
much about craftsmanship as efficiency.It is a link to a tradition of fearless, 
compelling writing that links The GUIDON and its first editor-in-chief Manuel 
Colayco, to the changing days of Pandayan up to the birth of Matanglawin and 
the continuing story of the Ateneo.The award also aims to encourage the winner 
to pursue a career in journalism beyond the Ateneo’s borders. Hence has named 
the award after Ateneo alumnus Raul Locsin, the visionary who founded the 
highly-acclaimed Business World. Through the sponsorship of the Department of 
Communication, the Raul Locsin Award recognizes the best journalists to emerge 
from the Loyola Schools.

This year, the Locsin Awards will be given in the categories of :
>   News,
>   Features,
>   Sports and
>   Photojournalism.

The Selection Process: 

Any graduating senior whose volume of work appeared in The GUIDON, Matanglawin 
or any publication whether school-based or not, in either English or Filipino, 
whether it be News, Features and Sports, are qualified to join the selection 
process as long as the articles were published while the student was part of 
the Loyola Schools.

The same rules cover photographs for those who wish to submit for the 
Photojournalism category. Qualified seniors should submit their complete 
portfolio in quadruplet to the board of judges before the deadline. The 
portfolios will be returned to the students after the selection process. The 
portfolios will be judged based on the following :
>   Overall Quality
>   Quantity and Consistency, and 
>   Impact

Portfolios should be submitted to:                                           
The Board of Judges, Raul Locsin Award,                               
Department of Communication,                                                   
School of Social Sciences

For inquiries, please contact:                                                
Ruel S. De Vera, Award Administrator                                       
Department of Communication at <comm at admu.edu.ph> or                         
through Department Secretary, Clarissa Carunungan @ local 5210	

Deadline for nominations is on the 25th of February, 2003

More information about the Blueboard mailing list